Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (1996)

The CTBT proposes a total ban on nuclear testing and would be a huge leap forward in the move to eliminate nuclear weapons.

The treaty opened for signature in 1996 and currently has 183 signatories with 159 states having ratified the treaty but it is yet to come into force. The conditions of the treaty are that all 44 states that possessed nuclear power reactors or research reactors and participated in the negotiation of the CTBT must ratify the treaty before it can come into force.

As of 2013, there were eight of these countries that had failed to ratify the treaty (China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Egypt, India, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States of America.)


Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (1970)

The nuclear non-proliferation treaty came into force in 1970 and is the principle binding multilateral treaty that is applicable to nuclear weapon states (NWS) regulating the distribution of nuclear weapons.

 It stipulates that NWS cannot share information regarding the construction of nuclear weapons to non nuclear weapons states (NNWS) or entrust nuclear weapons to NNWS to protect or use as strategic locations. The dissemination of nuclear information and capabilities for peaceful means is allowed but the NNWS are subject to intrusive investigations to ensure the information is not being used to manufacture nuclear weapons.

There are currently three confirmed states with nuclear weapon capabilities that are not subject to the treaty and are believed to be increasing their nuclear weapon arsenal (DPRK, Pakistan and India).

How to get involved

intl day against nuclear tests.jpg
July 6th-13th it is Nuclear Abolition Week (sponsored by ICAN), the idea is to promote the concept of nuclear abolition in order to protect humanity through creativity.

Each year on the 29th August there is an International Day Against Nuclear Tests which is designed to raise awareness about the dangers of nuclear testing and educate on nuclear issues.
For educational based activities and projects ongoing around the world please click here.
To find out more about Nuclear disarmament and for other ways to engage with this issue then please visit the websites below:

Nuclear Weapon Free Zones

There are currently nine areas in the world that have been officially declared Nuclear Weapon Free Zones.
  • Latin America and the Caribbean (Treaty of Tlateloco)
  • South East Asia (Treaty of Bangkok)
  • Central Asia (Treaty on the Nuclear Weapon Free zone in Central Asia)
  • Africa (Treaty of Pelindaba)
  • The South Pacific (Treaty of Rarotonga)
  • Antarctica (Antarctic Treaty)
  • Use of Outer Space, including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies (Outer Space Treaty)
  • Moon and Other Celestial Bodies (Moon Agreement)
  • On the Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor and in the Subsoil Thereof (Seabed Treaty)
  • Mongolia has a self-declared nuclear weapon free status that has been recognised by the General Assembly through GA resolution 55/33S
    A Nuclear Weapon Free Zone is defined in General Assembly Resolution 3472B (1975): 
    'any zone  recognized as such by the General Assembly of the United Nations, which any  group of States, in the free exercises of their sovereignty, has established by  virtue of a treaty or convention whereby: (a) The statute of total absence of nuclear  weapons to which the zone shall be subject, including the procedure for the  delimitation of the zone, is defined; (b) An  international system of verification and control is established to guarantee  compliance with the obligations deriving from that statute' 
Sign up to our newsletter for regular updates